George P. Panteleyev Award

The George “Gera” Pavlovich Panteleyev Award is conferred annually on the MIT/WHOI or WHOI Graduate Student in the graduating class for that academic year who best exemplifies the commitment to improving the graduate education experience and graduate student life at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

This award honors the memory of George “Gera” P. Panteleyev.  Gera was an MIT/WHOI Joint Program graduate student actively engaged in his Masters thesis research project as the Chief Scientist of a research cruise on the Ob River in Siberia in June 1995 when he was swept overboard in an accident and lost.  His dedication to research in conjunction with improving life for his fellow Russian citizens and his enthusiasm for graduate student life at WHOI were much admired.

The George P. Panteleyev Award consists of a plaque with the recipient's name and the date engraved, and a cash award.  Nominations are sought each year from current and graduating Joint Program students, as well as faculty and staff.  The award is presented at the annual WHOI Graduate Reception in June.

List of Eligible Graduating Students

Alice  Alpert             
Daniel Amrhein         
Hannah Barkley         
Alexander Bergan
Alec Bogdanoff        
Eleanor Bors             
Emily Brownlee
Deepak Cherian         
Sophie Chu                
James  Collins                      
Thomas DeCarlo       
Emily  Estes              
Guy Evans
Alexis Fischer
Maha Haji
Nicholas Hawco       
Jordon Hemingway  
Gregory Horning       
Evan Howard             
Winifred Johnson      
Maxwell Kaplan        
Isabela Le Bras
Cara Manning            
Jesse McNichol         
Emily Moberg                     
Kelly Ogden              
Kathleen Pitz             
Sarah Rosengard        
Emily Sarafian
Julie van der Hoop
David Wang
Anna Wargula
Atulya Yellepeddi
Ning Zhao  


» View a list of past Award Recipients

Enlarge Image

2016 Panteleyev awardee Melissa Moulton (photo by Tom Kleindinst, WHOI)