Commencement 2010 Awards

On June 5, 2010, Joint Program commencement was held at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.  The following awards were presented to alumni of the Joint Program.


Ruth and Paul Fye Award for Excellence in Oceanographic Research Graduate Student Best Paper Award

On the occasion of Paul M. Fye's retirement as Director of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and in special recognition of his and Ruth Fye's personal interest in the graduate program and students, the employees of the Institution established an endowed fund through personal contributions to support an award for the best graduate student paper. The process of selections has evolved to presenting the award every five or six years for the best paper by a graduate student in each of the five subdisciplines of the Joint Program, as well as an award for an interdisciplinary paper.  An eligible paper is one that has been published in press or submitted between February 1, 2005 and January 31, 2010 and is based on work performed while the author was a student in the WHOI or MIT/WHOI Joint Graduate Program.

Applied Ocean Physics & Engineering:  Ryan M. Eustice (2005)
Biological Oceanography:  Michael L. Brosnahan (Current Student)
Marine Chemistry & Geochemistry:  Eoghan P. Reeves (2010)
Geology & Geophysics:  Matthew G. Jackson (2008)
Physical Oceanography:  Melanie Fewings (2007)
Interdisciplinary Research:  Gareth L. Lawson (2006)


Earl Ewing Hays Award

The Earl Ewing Hays Award was established by his friends in memory of Earl’s deep devotion to education and his enjoyment of the company and intellectual stimulation of students. Earl was a Senior Scientist and Chair of the WHOI Ocean Engineering Department for many years. The award in his memory is granted periodically to an MIT/WHOI Joint Program graduate student who has made an imaginative and unique contribution to the art of ocean engineering and ocean instrumentation as documented in a report, presented paper, publication, patent or copyright filing.

For the paper titled “A Self-Consistent Bathymetric Mapping Algorithm published in the Journal of Field Robotics in 2007 with Hanu Singh, the award was presented to Christopher N. Roman (2005).

Joint Program 2010 graduate and Fye award recipient Eoghan Reeves (T. Kleindinst, WHOI)

Chris Roman, and his sleeping daughter, accept the Hays award. (T. Kleindinst, WHOI)