MIT/WHOI Joint Program Administration & Support

The administration of the MIT/WHOI Joint Program is a cooperative effort between members of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Director of the MIT/WHOI Joint Program
Edward A. Boyle
eaboyle@mit.edu

Joint Program Administrator
Ronni Schwartz
mspiggy@mit.edu

Responsible for the day-to-day administration of the JP graduate program at MIT including:

  • JP car
  • JP chartered bus service
  • JP Sid-Pac apartment
  • Oversight of budget including processing reimbursements to faculty and students
  • Videoconferencing services

Address
MIT/WHOI Joint Program Office
77 Massachusetts Avenue, Building 54-820
Cambridge, MA  02139
(617) 253-7544
mit-whoi-www@mit.edu

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI)

WHOI Vice President for Academic Programs and Dean
Dr. James A. Yoder
jyoder@whoi.edu

Associate Dean
Dr. Margaret K. Tivey
mktivey@whoi.edu

Housing Coordinator
Valerie Caron
vcaron@whoi.edu or housing@whoi.edu

  • Computer loan payments (primary contact)
  • Dean’s calendar
  • Housing requests
  • MIT parking passes (primary contact)

Budget Manager
Christine S. Charette
ccharette@whoi.edu

  • Anytime Fitness gym membership
  • Ocean Ventures Fund coordination
  • Tuition and stipend logistics

Graduate Admissions and Student Affairs Officer
Leanora Fraser
lfraser@whoi.edu

  • BJ’s Wholesale Club membership cardholder
  • Check-in and check-out appointments
  • MIT parking passes (backup contact)
  • Provide support in coordinating student events (e.g. arranging WHOI meeting services)
  • Room reservations and video links for thesis proposal defenses, committee meetings, thesis defenses, etc.
  • Sid-Pac apartment key holder (backup contact)
  • Student center maintenance
  • Student verification letters
  • Thesis defense notices and announcements
  • Thesis reproduction and distribution

Registrar
Julia G. Westwater
jwestwater@whoi.edu

  • Career seminars and workshops
  • Class scheduling and video links
  • Computer loan processing (backup contact)
  • Conference travel reimbursement
  • Grades
  • Health insurance
  • Registration
  • Transcripts
  • Travel reimbursement** for conferences and committee member travel

**For JP travel reimbursement for travel between MIT and WHOI, mail voucher and receipts to MS#31 or deliver to the cubicle drop box in the Academic Programs Office.

Address
WHOI Academic Programs Office
360 Woods Hole Road, MS 31
Clark 223
Woods Hole, MA  02543
(508) 289-2225
mit-whoi-www@mit.edu